Can Samba emulate Barshim by winning top IAAF award?
December 04 2018 01:16 AM
File photo of Samba celebrating after winning the Intercontinental Cup in Ostrava earlier this year.

By Sports Reporter/Doha

Can Abderrahman Samba make it two-in-a-row for Qatar after Mutaz Barshim won the IAAF Male Athlete of the Year in 2017?
Samba, the 400m hurdling sensation, who finished the Diamond League season unbeaten, is up against recently-minted world record holders Kevin Mayer (decathlon) Armand Duplantis (pole vault, U-20) and Christian Coleman (60m indoors) besides Eliud Kipchoge (marathon).
The IAAF’s prestigious awards gala will take place today in Monaco as the world governing body for the sport honours the year’s best athletes whose achievements helped contribute to another unforgettable year for track and field.
Qatar’s Samba, this year set the world’s quickest time in 400m hurdles since 1992, beating the record of Edwin Moses. He also won the 400m hurdles and 4x400m relay gold at the Jakarta Asian Games.
Samba set the track on fire this season and holds the world lead in 400m hurdles being unbeaten in nine finals of the Diamond League. More than 80 of the world’s finest track and field athletes will converge on the French Riviera to help celebrate the past year.
While the evening will reach its climax with the announcement of the male and female Athletes of the Year, the recipients of the IAAF Rising Star Awards, the Coaching Achievement Award, Women’s Award and President’s Award will also be revealed.
The ceremony will also name the winner of the second Athletics Photograph of the Year competition. The 25 shortlisted images will also form part of a photography exhibition which will be held alongside the IAAF Athletics Awards from December 1-5 at the Meridien Beach Plaza Hotel.
The IAAF Athletics Awards will be live streamed on the IAAF’s YouTube Channel and Facebook page.
Last year, Qatar’s legendary high jumper Mutaz Essa Barshim and Nafissatou Thiam of Belgium were named as the male and female IAAF World Athletes of the Year.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*